Moleskine Diaries: Cold as Stone

April 2, 2014 § 2 Comments

After browsing on Pinterest at different amazing artworks I came across a piece done in Charcoal and I was pretty amazed at how charcoal can show light so strongly. So I said to myself: I think I will do a drawing in Charcoal.

Needles to say I chose something I had never drawn before, took ages to finish and was pretty complicated. I think it was good thing I chose something difficult to draw, because at the end of it I got a sense of achievement.

But I finished it!

I also entered this drawing into a Moleskine competition, I was the first entry. I would love to win… but we’ll see. You can look at my entry here. The competition runs until April 14th. Please vote for me!

Below are some photos of the drawing. If you’ve watched Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit, you might recognise the scene (Mines of Moria).

 

IMG_8192

I used 3 charcoal pencils by Derwent in: Dark, Medium and Light. I also used a putty rubber to lift off extra colour. I used a smudger aswell.

 

IMG_8184

The finished piece.

IMG_8188

Drawing the rock around the doorway was challenging, it has a certain look that can’t be done randomly.

IMG_8187

Thank you for reading

Aaliyah

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Moleskine Diaries: Cold as Stone

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moleskine Diaries: Cold as Stone at Raincoat & Headscarf.

meta

