Acton Burnell Castle

February 24, 2014 § Leave a comment

Yesterday afternoon my little brother requested that we all go for a walk. So my father said ‘Where do you want to go?’….and Little Brother said ‘To a castle.’

So most unexpectedly while I was happily finishing a drawing (which I used in this post here) all of a sudden there was a rush of coats and wellies and I had to get my siblings ready to go.

Then with a flurry of a headscarf and pulling on my abaya, while chucking things in my rucksack, closing ink bottles and disposing of dirty water I finally  grabbed my coat and plonked myself in the car. Ready to go. Deep breath.

I didn’t take my customary raincoat, but instead brought my knee length down coat. It proved useful since there was some light rain and it was chilly considering we would be standing around instead of brisk walking. I assumed this castle was built on a hill (to spy approaching enemies) and so it would be windy, but it wasn’t.

I thought we were going to visit Hopton Castle (which my father and sister were going on about) but we actually went to Acton Burnell Castle. This castle was built in the 13th century by Robert Burnell who was the Bishop of Bath and confidant of King Edward I. This castle is is pretty much a ruin, but not like the other stumps of stone around England.

I have some photos which I shot while I was there:

IMG_4339

IMG_4373

There was a huge cedar tree that actually dwarfed the castle.

IMG_4349

Look how amazingly green it is even in the winter.

IMG_4352

It was also used for Parliament (this was conducted in the barn I believe)

IMG_4365

One of the stone windows with stone work, only a couple of the windows remain like this.

IMG_4433

I was glad I brought my down coat, my fingers went numb while I was sketching.

IMG_4401

My sister took this photo, visit her Facebook page here.

I couldn’t help but imagine how this place would have looked as a whole castle, roaring fires, roasting meat, horses and starlit skies. Rich fabrics woven with gold and greedy lords. All that remains of the castle is the living quarters, which I think were used by the King Edward I.

IMG_4392

Some sunshine at last. King Edward I gave permission that the original structure be turned into a fortified manor.

How many populations have We destroyed, which were given to wrong-doing? They tumbled down on their roofs. And how many wells are lying idle and neglected, and castles lofty and well-built? ~Al Quran 22:45

I hope you enjoyed the photos. Get out there sisters! (and brothers if you read this blog.) Please do not use any material without my permission.

Aaliyah

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Acton Burnell Castle at Raincoat & Headscarf.

meta

