Moleskine Diaries: Doodle

February 18, 2014 § Leave a comment

When I first got my Moleskine sketchbook, I was so excited that I didn’t know what to put in it. For ages I had wanted a sketchbook that I could slip in my pocket or my bag without taking up too much space. The Moleskine is perfect for that purpose. Some people say that the quality has decreased, but honestly I have no idea since this is the first time I’ve had one, I’ll just have to wait and see if the binding can take being flattened.

IMG_3136

I often put it in my breast pocket of my raincoat along with a pen or pencil, and I carry a small rucksack with some water, napkins and other graphite and charcoal pencils. The pencils in the photo below are by Derwent, they have been put in  a roll up case which I take with me.

IMG_4162

For the first page I decided to do a doodle, I started off with a flower, and added different types of flowers as I went along, I also added bees, butterflies and ladybirds. To fill up empty spaces and gaps I drew little dots and circles.

IMG_4144

For this piece I used exactly the same pen that I used for my line drawings. You can read that post here. The fine-liner ink came out really faint on this paper, so on anything I drew I had to go over it twice. This was also very time consuming, so I need another decent pen.

IMG_4146

I like the negative space, so for now this piece will remain the same, maybe I’ll shape the doodles into something or leave the corner blank.

Aaliyah

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moleskine Diaries: Doodle at Raincoat & Headscarf.

meta

