Book Review: Don’t Be Sad by Sheikh Al Qarni

February 8, 2014 § 2 Comments

This is a book a very popular book.

In fact if you haven’t heard of it then I’d be surprised. I first picked up this book when we were moving house about 4 years ago. It just sort of floated around a bit before I decided to pick it up and really read it.

IMG_3143

I tend to find Islamic books hard to read (comment if you do too) sometimes all the references and footnotes drive me crazy, the layout is such that just looking at the page switches me off. However it is amazing to have such a gift of reading and writing. As Muslims we should implement and take use that skill. So I decided to put effort into reading Islamic books.

We all have moments of loneliness and feeling self worthless. Sometimes we feel so utterly lost, we can’t even see the path laid so clearly before our feet. I felt I needed something to pick me up, and get me out of this state of despair. I started reading Don’t Be Sad slowly trying to soak in the advice.

The past is lost forever, and that which is hoped for is from the unseen. So all that you have is the present hour. ~Don’t Be Sad

The book is full of beautiful quotes, ayaat of the Quran, and other stories from around the world. The layout makes it very easy to read and some of the pages are laid out in bullet point format. At the end of each chapter are some questions to make you think. I strongly believe that whatever your problem, however deep your sadness and despair is there is something in this book that applies to you.

Personally, I find it easier to take my mind off worrying things because I was in the countryside, often all I needed was walk alongside the canal in the sunset. Or just talking to the horses (I know you guys also talk to your pets!)  I’d make sure no one was watching though. Don’t Be Sad advised me to think about Allah’s creation- to sit by a river or next the mountains. (No mountains here, so I settled for the hills). So I did.

I seriously advise you sisters (or brothers) sometimes you need to be out there where there are no people, if only for a while, and get some quiet time.

What I found the most helpful of the advice was how to live day by day, sometimes we are consumed with thoughts of the future. If you focus on being the best person you can today you will be happy with yourself tomorrow.

Today I shall be refined in my speech and will utter neither evil speech nor obscenity. Also, I shall not backbite.

Today I shall organize my house and my office. They will not be disorderly and chaotic, but organized and neat.

Today I will be particular about my bodily cleanliness and appearance. I will be meticulous in my neatness and balanced in my walk, talk, and actions.

Islamic Quotes

Of course we should all strive to read the Quran in a language we understand. Find yourself in Quran, if you look within in it you will find your situation mentioned.

(All quotes are from Don’t Be Sad.)

Please recommend any books you think I should read.

Your sister in Islam

Aaliyah

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Book Review: Don’t Be Sad by Sheikh Al Qarni

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Review: Don’t Be Sad by Sheikh Al Qarni at Raincoat & Headscarf.

meta

